I already have 9 "friends" who are either current PCVs or incoming PCVs (like me). Current PCVs are able to tell us what they should've brought, or wish they would've left home. Incoming PCVs are able to "meet" prior to stage.
It is so fun to find a new Mauritania-bound person. To be able to say, "yeah! I think I'll get along with this person" or "Oh! Biochemistry degree! They're going to know their stuff!" There is already the super-outgoing person. You know, the one who walks up and introduces herself to strangers right off the bat. (It is not me!)
I've learned more about PC and the application process from Facebook, PeaceCorps wiki and the PC-RIM google group, than from the official PC website.
I am still on a quest for passport pictures. I went to WalMart's photo studio. Got my picture taken. Found out that it is $10/2 pics no matter how many!! I was not going to dish out $120 for passport pics. So I went to FedEx/Kinkos. The first 2 are 12.99, $5/2 after that. But the girl at FedEx said that Costco's are really cheap. SO. I'm going to have to get Heidi to take me to Costco (since she has a membership) sometime this weekend. That means I should be able to FedEx my passport/visa applications on Monday.
I need to email my resume/letter of intent to PC RIM (btw: Republique Islamique de Mauritanie) ASAP also. I have to do this b/c the country doesn't receive any of my application materials. I have to sum me up in a resume and letter....which was PAGES of PC application materials. Ugh.
And I need to go up to Townsend next week to register my truck (permanent plates?) and register to vote/request absentee ballot. Since Judy won't let me work 5/2 (and therefore have a 1/2 day in the week), I think I'm going to call in sick. After all, I have 50+ hours of sick time. I can't just cash those out like I can my vacation days. :S My conscience might nag me about that, but I think I'll get over it.
Everything else can wait for a little bit. Calling my insurance company to make sure I have the cheapest possible insurance while I'm away, etc.
And I did get a letter today confirming that I am going to the Cursillo in Bozeman the 15-17 of May. I'm really excited to go. I think it will be really really good to have a really strong spiritual experience before I go. Especially since I won't have any familiar religion around me for 2+ years. I just think back to how I felt after Search... I think that the extra little push from the Holy Spirit will be a good thing. (wow, that sounds like I'm more religious than I am...) But, this means I have one less weekend to be productive. And one less weekend to spend with friends.
I need to start realizing that really, I'm leaving June 3rd (for all intents and purposes)...which means I only have *just* over a month. GAH!!
No comments:
Post a Comment